Select Page

The time is really strong for LPN training in Missouri according to the latest data from our government. We show the details below and walk you through the exact steps to get certified as a LPN in MO! From step 1 to certification, we will be there for you! Missouri is a member state of the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact or the eNLC. This allows all licensees in each member state to work in other member states under one license if one meets these requirements. With all the growth in allied health careers in Missouri, the time for getting in to practical nursing in MO could not really be any better!

Find Licensed Practical Nursing Schools in Missouri

How to become a LPN in Missouri

If you want to become a licensed practical nurse in Missouri requires you to finish an accredited training program that is authorized by the Missouri Division of Professional Registration,pass the NCLEX-PN and also be licensed for employment by the MDPR. Below we will get in to more details about it.

The process for becoming a LPN in Missouri

The process for becoming an LPN in Missouri is shown in the following 5 steps.

Step 1 – Complete the standard admission requirements for LPN training in Missouri

There are a number of prerequisites that typically must be met before you’ll be able to enroll at any accredited practical nursing training in Missouri. Be sure to double check what each school’s requirements are before you start the enrollment process.

Step 2 – Pick the kind of credential you want to pursue

Missouri licensed practical nursing programs award a couple of different types of credentials to graduates and they are certificates in practical nursing and associate degrees in practical nursing. See more in depth details here.

Step 3 – Complete an accredited Practical Nurse training class in Missouri

Licensed Practical Nurse programs in Missouri are required by state guidelines to be approved by the Missouri Division of Professional Registration (MDPR). Complete your training and you can take the NCLEX-PN.

How to compare LPN classes in Missouri

It can be pretty simple to see which accredited LPN programs across Missouri would fit you best if you take the time to follow our simple two steps. First is to think about what matters the most to you and your education and then the second step is to sort all the accredited schools by those factors. Once that is done the best options for your training will rise to the top.

Approved LPN courses in Missouri

Below is the complete list of LPN schools in Missouri that are approved by the Missouri Board of Nursing.

Applied Technology Services/West County
South Technical High School
12721 West Watson Road
Sunset Hills, MO 63127
Susan Winchester,
Coordinator
T: 314-989-7571
F: 314-989-7559
swinchester@ssd.k12.mo.us

Applied Technology Services/MET Center
6347 Plymouth Avenue
Wellston, MO 63133
James Miller,
Coordinator
T: 314-746-0788
F: 314-746-0805
jmiller@ssd.k12.mo.us

Bolivar Technical College
2001 West Broadway
Bolivar, MO 65613
Christina Lamb,
Coordinator
T: 417-777-5062
F: 417-777-8908
clamb@bolivarcollege.org

Cape Girardeau Career and Technology Center
1080 South Silver Springs Rd.
Cape Girardeau, MO 63703
Donna Johnson,
Coordinator
T: 573-334-0826 ext. 314
F: 573-334-5930
johnsond@cape.k12.mo.us

Cass Career Center
1600 East Elm
Harrisonville, MO 64701
Elizabeth Timmons,
Coordinator
T: 816-380-3253
F: 816-380-4534
timmonse@harrisonville.k12.mo.us

Carthage Technical Center
609 River Street
Carthage MO 64836
Mary Cayton,
Coordinator
T: 417-359-7026
F: 417-359-7098
caytonm@carthage.k12.mo.us

Colorado Technical University
520 East Nineteenth Ave.
N. Kansas City, MO 64116
Gina Tulipana,
Coordinator
T: 816-303-7840
F: 816-472-0688
gtulipana@kc.coloradotech.edu

Columbia Public School LPN Program
4203 S. Providence Rd.
Columbia, MO 65203
Paula Fox,
Coordinator
T: 573-214-3772
F: 573-214-3773
PFox@columbia.k12.mo.us

Concorde Career College
3239 Broadway Kansas City, MO 64111
Mary Jo Ellison,
Director of Nursing
T: 816-531-5223
F: 816-756-3231
mjellison@concorde.edu

Eldon Career Center
112 S. Pine
Eldon, MO 65026
Shelly Wehmeyer,
Coordinator
T: 573-392-8060 ext. 512
F: 573-392-8944
Shelly_Wehmeyer@mail.eldon.k12.mo.us

Franklin Technology Center
Franklin Technical School/MSSC
3950 East Newman
Joplin, MO 64804
Judy Hancock,
Coordinator
T: 417-659-4400
F: 417-659-4408
Hancock-J@.mssu.edu

Gibson Technical Center
22595A Main Street
Reeds Spring, MO 65737
Sheila Kaylor,
Coordinator
T: 417-272-3459
F: 417-272-8656
SKaylor@wolves.k12.mo.us

Hannibal Public Schools
4550 McMasters Avenue
Hannibal, MO 63401-2285
Gwenda Pollard,
Coordinator
T: 573-221-4430 ext. 182
F: 573-221-7971
gpollard@hannibal.k12.mo.u

Hillyard Technical Center
3434 Faraon Street
St. Joseph, MO 64506
Rosemary Hathaway,
Coordinator
T: 816-671-4170
F: 816-671-4479
Rosemary.hathaway@sjsd.k12.mo.us

Jefferson College Bi-level Program
1000 Viking Drive
Hillsboro, MO 63050
Karen Amsden,
Coordinator
T: 636-789-3951
F: 636-789-4012
kamsden@jeffco.edu

(Evening/Weekend Track) Kennett Career and Technology Center
1400 West Washington
Kennett, MO 63857
Melissa Watkins,
Coordinator
T: 573-717-1123
F: 573-717-1147
mwatkins@kennett.k12.mo.us

Kirksville Area Technical Center
1103 South Cottage Grove
Kirksville, MO 63501
Deborah Slattery,
Coordinator
T: 660-626-1470
F: 660-626-1478
DSlattery@kirksville.k12.mo.us

Lebanon Technology and Career Center
757 Brice Street
Lebanon, MO 65536
Belinda Rogers,
Coordinator
T: 417-532-5494
F: 417-532-4510
brogers@lebanon.k12.mo.us

Lex La-Ray Technical Center
2323 High School Drive
Lexington, MO 64067
Bernice Wagner,
Coordinator
T: 660-259-2264 ext. 216
F: 660-259-6262
bwagner@mail.lexington.k12.mo.us

Metropolitan Community College – Penn Valley
2700 East Eighteenth St
Kansas City, MO 64127
Sharon Graves,
Coordinator
T: 816-482-5070
F: 816-482-5110
sharon.graves@mcckc.edu

Mineral Area College
P.O. Box 1000
Park Hills, MO 63601
Lana Jinkerson,
Coordinator
T: 573-518-2172
F: 573-518-2292
Ljinkers@MineralArea.edu

Moberly Area Community College
101 College Avenue
Moberly, MO 65270
Terry Bichsel,
Coordinator
T: 660-263-4110 ext. 251
F: 660-263-7563
terryb@macc.edu

Moberly Area Community College-Mexico
2900 Doreli Lane
Mexico, MO 65265
Ryan House,
Interim Coordinator
T: 573-473-9620
F: 573-5813766
ryanh@macc.edu

Nevada Regional Technical Center
The Kenneth C. Bowman Jr.
Bldg.,2015 N. West St.
Nevada, MO 64772
Joanna Perkins,
Coordinator
T: 417-448-2016
F: 417-448-2018
jperkins@nevada.k12.mo.us

Nichols Career Center
605 Union Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Melissa Hobbs,
Coordinator
T: 573-659-3111
F: 573-659-3154
Melissa.hobbs@jcps.k12.mo.us

North Central Missouri College
1301 Main Street
Trenton, MO 64683
Janet Vanderpool,
Dean of Allied Health
T: 660-359-3948 ext. 1310
F: 660-359-3202
jvanderpool@mail.ncmissouri.edu

North Central Missouri College’s
Maryville Outreach Level I – PN
17-179 1515 South Munn
Maryville, MO 64468
Sue Nichols,
Coordinator
T: 660-562-4187
F: 660-562-2010
snichols@mail.ncmissouri.edu

North Central Missouri College/Bethany Practical Nursing Program
c/o North Central Career Center
PO Box 445
Bethany, MO 64424
Beth Crawford,
Coordinator
T: 660-425-8396
F: 660-425-2197
bcrawford@mail.ncmissouri.edu

Northland Career Center AVTS
1801 Branch Street
Platte City, MO 64079
Debora Signoracci,
Coordinator
T: 816-858-5505 ext. 18
F: 816-858-3278
signorad@pcriii.k12.mo.us

Ozarks Technical Community College
1001 East Chestnut Expressway
Springfield, MO 65802
Jackie Perryman,
Coordinator
T: 417-447-8847
F: 417-447-8806
perryman@otc.edu

Pemiscot County Vocational School of Practical Nursing
1317 West State Hwy 84
Hayti, MO 63851-1866
Jolon M. Vaughn,
Program Director
T. 573-359-6528
T. 573-359-1317
jvaughn@pcssd.k12.mo.us

Pike/Lincoln Technical Center
P.O Box 38
Eolia, MO 63344
Pam Tipton,
Coordinator
T: 573-485-2900
F: 573-485-2388
tipton@pltc.k12.mo.us

Poplar Bluff Technical Career Center
3203 Oak Grove Road
Poplar Bluff, MO 63901
Deborah Dancer,
Coordinator
T: 573-785-6867
F: 573-785-4168
ddancer@pb.k12.mo.us

Rolla Technical Center
500 Forum Drive
Rolla, MO 65401
Pati L. H. Cox,
Coordinator
T: 573-458-0160
F: 573-458-0164
pcox@rolla.k12.mo.us

Saline County Career Center
900 West Vest
Marshall, MO 65340
Kimberly Davis,
Coordinator
T: 660-886-6958
F: 660-886-3092
kdavis@marshallschools.com

Sikeston LPN School
R-6 1002 Virginia
Sikeston, MO 63801
Julie Davis,
Director
T: 573-472-8887 ext. 202
F: 573-472-8810
jdavis@sikeston.k12.mo.us

South Central Career Center
613 West First St.
West Plains, MO 65775
Allison LaFevers,
Coordinator
T: 417-255-8668
F: 417-256-3327
alafevers@mail.wphs.k12.mo.us

St. Charles Community College
4601 Mid River Mall Drive
Cottleville, MO 63376
Russlyn St. John,
Coordinator
T: 636-922-8280
F: 636-922-8478
rstjohn@stchas.edu

St. Louis College of Health Careers
17-139 1297 N. Highway Dr.
Fenton, MO 63026
Nancy Kaufmann,
Director of Nursing
T: 636-529-000 ext. 3575
F: 636-529-0430
nkaufmann@SLCHCMAIL.com

State Fair Community College
3201 West 16th Street
Sedalia, MO 65301
Beverly Wilkerson,
Program Administrator
T: 660-596-7329 ext. 329
F: 660-530-5820
bwilkerson@sfccmo.edu

Texas County Technical Institute
6915 So. Hwy 63
Houston, MO 65483
Mary Barnes,
Director
T: 417-967-5466
F: 417-967-4604
mbarnes@texascountytech.edu

Warrensburg Area Career Center
205 South Ridgeview Drive
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Rori Schreiman,
Coordinator
T: 660-747-2283
F: 660-747-3778
rschreiman@warrensburg.k12.mo.us

Washington School of Practical Nursing
1978 Image Drive
Washington, MO 63090
Christine Redd,
Coordinator
T: 636-231-2141 ext. 2912
F: 636-239-0791
chris.redd@washington.k12.mo.us

Waynesville Technical Academy
810 Roosevelt Street
Waynesville, MO 65583
Melissa Jones,
Coordinator
T: 573-774-6584
F: 573-774-3355
melissa.r.jones@waynesville.k12.mo.us

Step 4 – Sign up for and Take the NCLEX-PN exam in MO

In Missouri, you are required to pass the nationally-recognized NCLEX-PN test to become licensed as a LPN.

Things covered on the NCLEX-PN in MO

Noted here are the main areas typically covered on the NCLEX-PN. The details we cover are the steps to prepare efficiently, what to do on the day of the exam, what is on the exam and more!

Step 5 – Pass the NCLEX-PN and Start Towards Your LPN Career in Missouri

We cover what the steps are to become a working practical nurse in Missouri and the last step before making your career begin is to pass the NCLEX-PN in Missouri.

LPN salary in Missouri

There’s a very high demand for LPNs in Missouri and although the Bureau of Labor Statistics expects a see a 7% increase in Missouri. The listing below features specifics from the bls.gov’s latest data on Practical Nursing salary in Missouri by location.

LocationPay TypeLowMedianHigh
United StatesHourly$15.63$21.20$29.05
Yearly$32,510 $44,090 $60,420
MissouriHourly$14.64$18.78$23.98
Yearly$30,440 $39,060 $49,890
Kansas City, MO-KS MSAHourly$16.11$20.76$24.65
Yearly$33,520 $43,170 $51,280
St. Louis, MO-IL MSAHourly$16.04$20.61$24.73
Yearly$33,360 $42,860 $51,450
Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers, AR-MO MSAHourly$15.88$20.48$24.37
Yearly$33,020 $42,590 $50,690
Columbia, MO MSAHourly$15.44$18.17$22.52
Yearly$32,100 $37,790 $46,840
St. Joseph, MO-KS MSAHourly$14.37$17.87$23.23
Yearly$29,900 $37,170 $48,310
Springfield, MO MSAHourly$13.52$17.86$23.69
Yearly$28,120 $37,160 $49,280
Southwest Missouri BOSHourly$13.27$17.37$22.17
Yearly$27,600 $36,130 $46,120
Cape Girardeau-Jackson, MO-IL MSAHourly$13.16$17.35$22.93
Yearly$27,380 $36,090 $47,690
Central Missouri (BOS)Hourly$13.48$17.33$22.02
Yearly$28,040 $36,050 $45,800
Jefferson City, MO MSAHourly$13.84$17.28$21.59
Yearly$28,780 $35,950 $44,910
Joplin, MO MSAHourly$13.22$17.27$22.85
Yearly$27,500 $35,920 $47,530
North Missouri BOSHourly$13.48$17.05$21.41
Yearly$28,040 $35,460 $44,530
Southeast Missouri BOSHourly$13.05$16.94$22.17
Yearly$27,140 $35,230 $46,110

Recommended Practical Nurse Classes in Missouri