The time is really strong for LPN training in Missouri according to the latest data from our government. We show the details below and walk you through the exact steps to get certified as a LPN in MO! From step 1 to certification, we will be there for you! Missouri is a member state of the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact or the eNLC. This allows all licensees in each member state to work in other member states under one license if one meets these requirements.

How to become a LPN in Missouri

Becoming a Licensed Practical Nurse in Missouri requires you to complete a training program authorized by the Missouri Division of Professional Registration, earn a passing score on the NCLEX-PN assessment and be licensed for employment by the MDPR. Each one of these steps are covered in detail in the following section.

The process for becoming a LPN in Missouri

The process for becoming an LPN in Missouri is shown in the following 5 steps.

Step 1 – Complete the standard admission requirements for LPN training in Missouri

There are a number of prerequisites that typically must be met before you’ll be able to register for LPN training. Although these prerequisites might change somewhat from one school to the next, those listed below are relatively common.

Proof of U.S. citizenship or legal residence
Minimum ACT exam score
A minimum 2.5 cumulative GPA in high school (or GED equivalent)

Step 2 – Pick the kind of credential you want to pursue

Licensed practical nursing programs award a couple of different types of credentials to graduates: an associate-level degree, and a certificate (sometimes called a “diploma”). Each of these awards may help you find your first practical nursing job, but you should be informed about the benefits and drawbacks to each before deciding on one.

Diploma or Certificate

The traditional training course that awards a certificate or diploma lasts approximately a year-and-a-half and concentrates only on getting students ready to cope with the routine duties of a Licensed Practical Nurse. These programs are offered at a variety of schools across Missouri, and may even be offered online. This is unlike associate’s degree programs which include general education and additional university courses too.

Associate Degree

Associate degree programs are generally two years in length, and the material discussed is a lot more thorough in scope. Training programs offering this degree are normally hosted by junior colleges and trade schools in Missouri, so there are usually also stricter admission requirements that have to be satisfied.

The advantages of holding an associate degree usually exceed those of the diploma or certificate, therefore the extra challenges are generally regarded as being worthwhile.

Step 3 – Complete an accredited Practical Nurse training class in Missouri

Licensed Practical Nurse programs in Missouri are required by state guidelines to be approved by the Missouri Division of Professional Registration (MDPR). Only students who finish their schooling at a program accredited by them will be allowed to challenge the NCLEX-PN.

How to compare LPN classes in Missouri

It is very important to consider several things when figuring out where to sign up for training courses. You’ll want to think about the following as you compare training programs.

Each one of us has different concerns that impact the decisions we make. If you happen to be concerned with tuition expenses, start your search by figuring out which programs fit your finances. After that, go on to the second-most significant thing (e.g. class schedules, etc.) and apply that criteria to further narrow your options.

Applying this approach, it is possible to cut your possibilities down to just two or three schools. Making sure that the program you decide on fits your individual circumstances can greatly boost your chances of graduating.

Approved LPN courses in Missouri

Below is the complete list of LPN schools in Missouri that are approved by the Missouri Board of Nursing.

Applied Technology Services/West County 17-154 South Technical High School
12721 West Watson Road
Sunset Hills, MO 63127
Susan Winchester,
Coordinator
T: 314-989-7571
F: 314-989-7559
swinchester@ssd.k12.mo.us

Applied Technology Services/MET Center
17-100 6347 Plymouth Avenue
Wellston, MO 63133
James Miller,
Coordinator
T: 314-746-0788
F: 314-746-0805
jmiller@ssd.k12.mo.us

Bolivar Technical College 17-121 2001 West Broadway
Bolivar, MO 65613
Christina Lamb,
Coordinator
T: 417-777-5062
F: 417-777-8908
clamb@bolivarcollege.org

Boonslick Technical Education Center
17-166 1694 Ashley Road
Boonville, MO 65233
Beth Jackson-Rumbaoa,
Coordinator
T: 660-882-5306
F: 660-882-3269
Brumbaoa@boonville.k12.mo.us

Cape Girardeau Career and Technology Center
17-167 1080 South Silver Springs Rd.
Cape Girardeau, MO 63703
Donna Johnson,
Coordinator
T: 573-334-0826 ext. 314
F: 573-334-5930
johnsond@cape.k12.mo.us

Cass Career Center 17-129 1600 East Elm
Harrisonville, MO 64701
Elizabeth Timmons,
Coordinator
T: 816-380-3253
F: 816-380-4534
timmonse@harrisonville.k12.mo.us

Carthage Technical Center 17-125 609 River Street
Carthage MO 64836
Mary Cayton,
Coordinator
T: 417-359-7026
F: 417-359-7098
caytonm@carthage.k12.mo.us

Colorado Technical University 17-152 520 East Nineteenth Ave.
N. Kansas City, MO 64116
Gina Tulipana,
Coordinator
T: 816-303-7840
F: 816-472-0688
gtulipana@kc.coloradotech.edu

Columbia Public School 17-199 4203 S. Providence Rd.
Columbia, MO 65203
Paula Fox,
Coordinator
T: 573-214-3772
F: 573-214-3773
PFox@columbia.k12.mo.us

Concorde Career College 17-194 3239 Broadway
Kansas City, MO 64111
Mary Jo Ellison,
Director of Nursing
T: 816-531-5223
F: 816-756-3231
mjellison@concorde.edu

Eldon Career Center 17-108 112 S. Pine
Eldon, MO 65026
Shelly Wehmeyer,
Coordinator
T: 573-392-8060 ext. 512
F: 573-392-8944
Shelly_Wehmeyer@mail.eldon.k12.mo.us

Franklin Technology Center 17-195 Franklin Technical
School/MSSC
3950 East Newman
Joplin, MO 64804
Judy Hancock,
Coordinator
T: 417-659-4400
F: 417-659-4408
Hancock-J@.mssu.edu

Gibson Technical Center 17-164 22595A Main Street
Reeds Spring, MO 65737
Sheila Kaylor,
Coordinator
T: 417-272-3459
F: 417-272-8656
SKaylor@wolves.k12.mo.us

Hannibal Public Schools 17-193 4550 McMasters Avenue
Hannibal, MO 63401-2285
Gwenda Pollard,
Coordinator
T: 573-221-4430 ext. 182
F: 573-221-7971
gpollard@hannibal.k12.mo.u

Hillyard Technical Center 17-189 3434 Faraon Street
St. Joseph, MO 64506
Rosemary Hathaway,
Coordinator
T: 816-671-4170
F: 816-671-4479
Rosemary.hathaway@sjsd.k12.mo.us

Jefferson College Bi-level Program
17-174 1000 Viking Drive
Hillsboro, MO 63050
Karen Amsden,
Coordinator
T: 636-789-3951
F: 636-789-4012
kamsden@jeffco.edu

(Evening/Weekend Track) Kennett Career & Technology Center
17-169 1400 West Washington
Kennett, MO 63857
Melissa Watkins,
Coordinator
T: 573-717-1123
F: 573-717-1147
mwatkins@kennett.k12.mo.us

Kirksville Area Technical Center 17-186 1103 South Cottage Grove
Kirksville, MO 63501
Deborah Slattery,
Coordinator
T: 660-626-1470
F: 660-626-1478
DSlattery@kirksville.k12.mo.us

Lebanon Technology and Career Center
17-120 757 Brice Street
Lebanon, MO 65536
Belinda Rogers,
Coordinator
T: 417-532-5494
F: 417-532-4510
brogers@lebanon.k12.mo.us

Lex La-Ray Technical Center 17-105 2323 High School Drive
Lexington, MO 64067
Bernice Wagner,
Coordinator
T: 660-259-2264 ext. 216
F: 660-259-6262
bwagner@mail.lexington.k12.mo.us

Metropolitan Community College – Penn Valley
17-157 2700 East Eighteenth St
Kansas City, MO 64127
Sharon Graves,
Coordinator
T: 816-482-5070
F: 816-482-5110
sharon.graves@mcckc.edu

Mineral Area College 17-192 P.O. Box 1000
Park Hills, MO 63601
Lana Jinkerson,
Coordinator
T: 573-518-2172
F: 573-518-2292
Ljinkers@MineralArea.edu

Moberly Area Community College 17-183 101 College Avenue
Moberly, MO 65270
Terry Bichsel,
Coordinator
T: 660-263-4110 ext. 251
F: 660-263-7563
terryb@macc.edu

Moberly Area Community College-Mexico
17-161 2900 Doreli Lane
Mexico, MO 65265
Ryan House,
Interim Coordinator
T: 573-473-9620
F: 573-5813766
ryanh@macc.edu

Nevada Regional Technical Center 17-187 The Kenneth C. Bowman Jr.
Bldg.,2015 N. West St.
Nevada, MO 64772
Joanna Perkins,
Coordinator
T: 417-448-2016
F: 417-448-2018
jperkins@nevada.k12.mo.us

Nichols Career Center 17-190 605 Union Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Melissa Hobbs,
Coordinator
T: 573-659-3111
F: 573-659-3154
Melissa.hobbs@jcps.k12.mo.us

North Central Missouri College 17-185 1301 Main Street
Trenton, MO 64683
Janet Vanderpool,
Dean of Allied Health
T: 660-359-3948 ext. 1310
F: 660-359-3202
jvanderpool@mail.ncmissouri.edu

North Central Missouri College’s
Maryville Outreach Level I – PN
17-179 1515 South Munn
Maryville, MO 64468
Sue Nichols,
Coordinator
T: 660-562-4187
F: 660-562-2010
snichols@mail.ncmissouri.edu

North Central Missouri
College/Bethany
17-178 Practical Nursing Program c/o North Central Career Center
PO Box 445
Bethany, MO 64424
Beth Crawford,
Coordinator
T: 660-425-8396
F: 660-425-2197
bcrawford@mail.ncmissouri.edu

Northland Career Center AVTS 17-102 1801 Branch Street
Platte City, MO 64079
Debora Signoracci,
Coordinator
T: 816-858-5505 ext. 18
F: 816-858-3278
signorad@pcriii.k12.mo.us

Ozarks Technical Community College
17-198 1001 East Chestnut Expressway
Springfield, MO 65802
Jackie Perryman,
Coordinator
T: 417-447-8847
F: 417-447-8806
perryman@otc.edu

Pemiscot County Vocational School of Practical Nursing
17-143 1317 West State Hwy 84
Hayti, MO 63851-1866
Jolon M. Vaughn,
Program Director
T. 573-359-6528
T. 573-359-1317
jvaughn@pcssd.k12.mo.us

Pike/Lincoln Technical Center 17-168 P.O Box 38
Eolia, MO 63344
Pam Tipton,
Coordinator
T: 573-485-2900
F: 573-485-2388
tipton@pltc.k12.mo.us

Poplar Bluff Technical Career Center
17-153 3203 Oak Grove Road
Poplar Bluff, MO 63901
Deborah Dancer,
Coordinator
T: 573-785-6867
F: 573-785-4168
ddancer@pb.k12.mo.us

Rolla Technical Center 17-184 500 Forum Drive
Rolla, MO 65401
Pati L. H. Cox,
Coordinator
T: 573-458-0160
F: 573-458-0164
pcox@rolla.k12.mo.us

Saline County Career Center 17-175 900 West Vest
Marshall, MO 65340
Kimberly Davis,
Coordinator
T: 660-886-6958
F: 660-886-3092
kdavis@marshallschools.com

Sanford Brown College 17-104 100 Richmond Center
St. Peters, MO 63376
Angela UnderwoodOlson,
PN Coordinator
T: 636-696-2300
F: 636-696-2067
AUnderwood-olson@sbc-stpeters.com

Sikeston R-6 17-188 1002 Virginia
Sikeston, MO 63801
Julie Davis,
Director
T: 573-472-8887 ext. 202
F: 573-472-8810
jdavis@sikeston.k12.mo.us

South Central Career Center 17-177 613 West First St.
West Plains, MO 65775
Allison LaFevers,
Coordinator
T: 417-255-8668
F: 417-256-3327
alafevers@mail.wphs.k12.mo.us

St. Charles Community College 17-150 4601 Mid River Mall Drive
Cottleville, MO 63376
Russlyn St. John,
Coordinator
T: 636-922-8280
F: 636-922-8478
rstjohn@stchas.edu

St. Louis College of Health Careers
17-139 1297 N. Highway Dr.
Fenton, MO 63026
Nancy Kaufmann,
Director of Nursing
T: 636-529-000 ext. 3575
F: 636-529-0430
nkaufmann@SLCHCMAIL.com

State Fair Community College 17-182 3201 West 16th Street
Sedalia, MO 65301
Beverly Wilkerson,
Program Administrator
T: 660-596-7329 ext. 329
F: 660-530-5820
bwilkerson@sfccmo.edu

Texas County Technical Institute 17-135 6915 So. Hwy 63
Houston, MO 65483
Mary Barnes,
Director
T: 417-967-5466
F: 417-967-4604
mbarnes@texascountytech.edu

Warrensburg Area Career Center 17-172 205 South Ridgeview Drive
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Rori Schreiman,
Coordinator
T: 660-747-2283
F: 660-747-3778
rschreiman@warrensburg.k12.mo.us

Washington School of Practical Nursing
17-176 1978 Image Drive
Washington, MO 63090
Christine Redd,
Coordinator
T: 636-231-2141 ext. 2912
F: 636-239-0791
chris.redd@washington.k12.mo.us

Waynesville Technical Academy 17-165 810 Roosevelt Street
Waynesville, MO 65583
Melissa Jones,
Coordinator
T: 573-774-6584
F: 573-774-3355
melissa.r.jones@waynesville.k12.mo.us

Step 4 – Sign up for and Take the NCLEX-PN exam

In Missouri, you are required to pass the nationally-recognized NCLEX-PN test to become licensed as a LPN. This test includes segments on all major areas of knowledge you would have been exposed to in your study course.

Things covered on the NCLEX-PN in MO

Noted here are the main areas typically covered on the NCLEX-PN.

Step 5 – Pass the NCLEX-PN and Start Towards Your LPN Career in Missouri

There’s a very high demand for LPNs throughout the nation and in Missouri. Although the Bureau of Labor Statistics expects a 16% growth in brand new openings for licensed practical or vocational nurses nationwide through the year 2024, the agency is expecting to see a 7% increase in Missouri. The majority of new openings are likely to be produced in hospitals, medical laboratories and physicians offices.

The subsequent listing features specifics on Practical Nursing salary in Missouri by location.

LPN salary in Missouri

LocationPay TypeLowMedianHigh
United StatesHourly$15.63$21.20$29.05
Yearly$32,510 $44,090 $60,420
MissouriHourly$14.64$18.78$23.98
Yearly$30,440 $39,060 $49,890
Kansas City, MO-KS MSAHourly$16.11$20.76$24.65
Yearly$33,520 $43,170 $51,280
St. Louis, MO-IL MSAHourly$16.04$20.61$24.73
Yearly$33,360 $42,860 $51,450
Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers, AR-MO MSAHourly$15.88$20.48$24.37
Yearly$33,020 $42,590 $50,690
Columbia, MO MSAHourly$15.44$18.17$22.52
Yearly$32,100 $37,790 $46,840
St. Joseph, MO-KS MSAHourly$14.37$17.87$23.23
Yearly$29,900 $37,170 $48,310
Springfield, MO MSAHourly$13.52$17.86$23.69
Yearly$28,120 $37,160 $49,280
Southwest Missouri BOSHourly$13.27$17.37$22.17
Yearly$27,600 $36,130 $46,120
Cape Girardeau-Jackson, MO-IL MSAHourly$13.16$17.35$22.93
Yearly$27,380 $36,090 $47,690
Central Missouri (BOS)Hourly$13.48$17.33$22.02
Yearly$28,040 $36,050 $45,800
Jefferson City, MO MSAHourly$13.84$17.28$21.59
Yearly$28,780 $35,950 $44,910
Joplin, MO MSAHourly$13.22$17.27$22.85
Yearly$27,500 $35,920 $47,530
North Missouri BOSHourly$13.48$17.05$21.41
Yearly$28,040 $35,460 $44,530
Southeast Missouri BOSHourly$13.05$16.94$22.17
Yearly$27,140 $35,230 $46,110