Select Page

With the Connecticut Department of Public Health overseeing all EMT training in Connecticut, it is important to make sure you attend classes that are approved by them. We go through all the steps to get started in the fast paced and growing allied health career in CT below.

Gain Entry in to Accredited EMT Classes in CT

 

The Steps to become an Emergency Medical Technician in Connecticut

If you are 16 years of age (with a parental consent form) you can start EMT training in Connecticut. You will need to take and complete approved training, pass the NREMT certification exams, fill out the application for certification and get listed on the national registry for EMTs. If you do these steps you will be on your way to meeting your career goals and become a EMT in CT!

Step 1: Meet Standard Requirements for EMT Training in Connecticut

Since Connecticut allows you to be 16 years of age to be in EMT training, the only prerequisite for training is that you get a parental consent form for program entry.

Step 2: Complete an Emergency Medical Technician training program in CT

It is mandatory for Connecticut residents who want to get a EMT certification that they complete approved training. Candidates cannot become a working certified EMT in the state without doing so.

All Connecticut EMT Programs Approved by the CT Dept. of Public Health

Below is the complete listing of Connecticut Department of Public Health Approved EMT programs. As you can see there are many levels to emergency medical technicians, just pick the training at a level you strive to become.

Location Instructor Name Instructor Email Phone (W) Phone (H)

EMR

Beacon Falls Rodorigo,Jeremy jeremy.rodorig0@wtbyhosp.org (203) 410-7019
North Canaan Osterman,Damon odamon@yahoo.com (860) 309-3804
Sharon Sawicki,Zachary zsawicki1@gmail.com (860) 605-0420 (860) 435-0102
Sherman Healey,Ellen ellenjohealey@gmail.com (203) 788-0536
Somers Meier III,William bm146@aol.com (860) 214-3649
Southbury Lynch,Judith judithlynch@icloud.com (203) 509-6575

EMR-R

Bantam Curulla,Troy troycurulla@gmail.com (860) 209-1590 (860) 209-1589
Brooklyn Wentworth,Paul paul.wentworth@jmmc.com (860) 748-6302 (860) 974-0324
Clinton Battista,John towndocks@att.net (860) 669-8131 (860) 669-1674
Durham Brockett,Louis lou@asecondchancecpr.com (860) 788-3245 (203) 213-7775
East Hartford Shok,Richard info@code1web.com (860) 786-1789
Enfield Ellis,Scott sellis@enfield.org (860) 930-1024 (860) 745-3365
Enfield Shelanskas,Lisa EMSIServices@aol.com (860) 810-5247 (860) 668-3885
Groton Christina,Steven emsi_steve@hotmail.com (860) 572-1869 (860) 867-7107
Harwinton Nemcik,Jaclyn jaclyn_nemcik@hotmail.com (860) 601-6166 (860) 489-6633
Killingly Ducat,Eric eric.ducat@hotmail.com (860) 208-2218 (860) 774-7625
Middlebury Sweet,Ken Medic2470@gmail.com (203) 759-7525 (203) 509-9897
Middletown Davis,Michael mdavis@firstapproach.org (860) 343-5713 (860) 615-9418
New London Christina,Steven emsi_steve@hotmail.com (860) 572-1869 (860) 867-7107
Newington D’Esposito,Matthew mdesposito@newingtonct.gov (860) 666-8445 (203) 948-4905
Norwich Crowley,Erin ecrowley@americanprotraining.com (860) 383-1343
Old Saybrook Spera,Michael howserpublicsafety@gmail.com (860) 395-6648
Oxford Aiello,Michael oxfordambulance@gmail.com (203) 881-5216 (203) 893-1941
Plainfield Marriott,Michael marriott29@hotmail.com (860) 933-4952
Portland Sienkiewicz,Thomas tpss55@sbcglobal.net (860) 593-1781 (860) 342-5636
Riverside Fogler,Dennis dfogler@greenwichems.org (203) 915-6151 (203) 637-7505
Seymour Ryan,Bryan bryan@seymourems.org (203) 996-7197 (203) 888-8843
Sharon Cannon,Amanda acannon@scrinc.net (860) 491-2689 (860) 294-4359
Shelton Lahaza,Patrick plahaza@sheltonems.com (203) 924-5500
Somers Shelanskas,Lisa EMSIServices@aol.com (860) 810-5247 (860) 668-3885
South Windsor Hildebrand,Andrew ahildebrand@cprtrainpro.com (860) 474-5525
Uncasville Leclair,David daleclair@hotmail.com (607) 435-5807 (607) 432-7525

EMSI

Hartford Shelanskas,Lisa EMSIServices@aol.com (860) 810-5247
Manchester Osborne,Melissa mosborne35@gmail.com (860) 705-0071
Shelton Lahaza,Patrick plahaza@sheltonems.com (203) 924-5500

EMT

Bridgeport Roberts,Aimee aimee.roberts@amr.net (203) 332-4080 (203) 212-5287
Bristol Kenney,Sharon skenney@txcc.commnet.edu (860) 314-4700 (860) 314-4705
Danbury Cassavechia,Matthew Matthew.Cassavechia@wchn.org (203) 739-7493 (203) 648-5160
Durham Brockett,Louis lou@asecondchancecpr.com (860) 788-3245 (203) 213-7775
East Hartford Shok,Richard info@code1web.com (860) 786-1789
Meriden Marotto,Scott scottm@huntersamb.com (203) 514-5133 (860) 918-3797
Middletown Davis,Michael mdavis@firstapproach.org (860) 343-5713 (860) 615-9418
New Haven Torino,Michael mtorino@gwcc.com (203) 815-2927 (203) 671-7994
New London Christina,Steven emsi_steve@hotmail.com (860) 572-1869 (860) 867-7107
New London Holyfield,Charles FB29-10@sbcglobal.net (860) 884-5963 (860) 884-5963
New Milford Amorando,Jacob jakeamorando@gmail.com (203) 300-4488
Newtown Cain,Elizabeth ecain48641@aol.com (203) 270-8798 (203) 788-7570
Norwalk Ralsky,Mark mcr769@hotmail.com (203) 241-7400
Norwich Russell,Erin ecrowley@americanprotraining.com (860) 383-1343
Old Saybrook Spera,Michael howserpublicsafety@gmail.com (860) 395-6648
Oxford Aiello,Michael oxfordambulance@gmail.com (203) 881-5216 (203) 893-1941
Shelton Lahaza,Patrick plahaza@sheltonems.com (203) 924-5500
South Windsor Hildebrand,Andrew ahildebrand@cprtrainpro.com (860) 474-5525
Southbury Lynch,Judith judithlynch@icloud.com (203) 509-6575
Storrs Zacchera,Michael michael.zacchera@hhchealth.org (860) 972-2564
Stratford Benoit,Victoria vbenoit1@fairfield.edu (203) 254-4090 (203) 254-4090
Terryville Kenney,Sharon skenney@txcc.commnet.edu (860) 314-4700 (860) 314-4705
Waterbury Gelati,Laurence tvac18@aol.com (203) 753-5055 (860) 601-7717
Windsor Antonelli,Richard richard.antonelli@windsorctems.com (860) 688-8244

EMT Bridge

Middletown Davis,Michael mdavis@firstapproach.org (860) 343-5713 (860) 615-9418
Watertown Lynch,Judith judithlynch@icloud.com (203) 509-6575 (860) 274-8959

EMT-R

Bantam Curulla,Troy troycurulla@gmail.com (860) 209-1590 (860) 209-1589
Bridgeport Roberts,Aimee aimee.roberts@amr.net (203) 212-5287 (203) 332-4080
Brooklyn Wentworth,Paul paul.wentworth@imhosp.org (860) 748-6302 (860) 974-0324
Clinton Battista,John schmardel@yahoo.com (860) 669-8131 (203) 391-2254
Durham Brockett,Louis lou@asecondchancecpr.com (860) 788-3245 (203) 213-7775
East Hartford Shok,Richard info@code1web.com (860) 786-1789
Easton Arnold,Majorie mjm3541@gmail.com (203) 610-9371 (203) 452-9595
Enfield Ellis,Scott sellis@enfield.org (860) 930-1024 (860) 745-3365
Enfield Shelanskas,Lisa EMSIServices@aol.com (860) 810-5247 (860) 668-3885
Groton Christina,Steven emsi_steve@hotmail.com (860) 572-1869 (860) 867-7107
Harwinton Nemcik,Jaclyn jaclyn_nemcik@hotmail.com (860) 601-6166 (860) 489-6633
Killingly Ducat,Eric eric.ducat@hotmail.com (860) 774-7625 (860) 208-2218
Middletown Davis,Michael mdavis@firstapproach.org (860) 343-5713 (860) 615-9418
Mystic McDonnell,Leo todd.mcdonnell@gmail.com (860) 334-3927

Medic-R

New Britain Ciardullo,Patrick patrick.ciardullo@nbems.org (860) 351-0180 (860) 225-8787
New Haven Roberts,Seth seth.roberts@amr.net (203) 627-1915
New London Christina,Steven emsi_steve@hotmail.com (860) 572-1869 (860) 867-7107
Norwich Russell,Erin erussell@americanprotraining.com (860) 886-1463
Oxford Aiello,Michael oxfordambulance@gmail.com (203) 881-5216 (203) 893-1941
Plainfield Marriott,Michael marriott29@hotmail.com (860) 933-4952
Portland Sienkiewicz,Thomas tpss55@sbcglobal.net (860) 593-1781
Riverside Fogler,Dennis dfogler@greenwichems.org (203) 915-6151 (203) 637-7505
Seymour Ryan,Bryan bryan@seymourems.org (203) 996-7197 (203) 888-8843
Shelton Lahaza,Patrick plahaza@sheltonems.com (203) 924-5500
Somers Shelanskas,Lisa EMSIServices@aol.com (860) 810-5247 (860) 668-3885
South Windsor Hildebrand,Andrew ahildebrand@cprtrainpro.com (860) 474-5525
Old Saybrook Spera,Michael howserpublicsafety@gmail.com (860) 395-3140
Waterbury Matias,Jose jose.matias@amr.net (203) 577-9753 (203) 573-7710
Willimantic Shok,Richard info@code1web.com (860) 786-1789
Windsor Locks Stiles,Carol clstiles@comcast.net (860) 798-7365 (860) 627-6363
Woodbridge Shok,Richard info@code1web.com (860) 786-1789
New Britain Ciardullo,Patrick patrick.ciardullo@nbems.org (860) 351-0180
New Haven DeAngelis,Joseph joseph.deangelis@ynhh.org (203) 868-4564 (203) 562-1507

Paramedic

Bridgeport Rodican,John jrodican3@gmail.com (203) 691-7928 (203) 996-5363

How long is Connecticut EMT School?

Most likely, your training will last 6 months or so.

Step 3: Get a CPR-BLS credential

If you do not have a CPR certificate training in your approved Colorado EMT program, you will have to earn one. You need the CPR for healthcare providers certificate.

Step 4: Pass the National Registry EMT Exam

Connecticut uses the NREMT exam for their test for EMT certification. You can register to take the exams once you have passed your approved training program.

Click here for more details about EMT exams.

Step 5: Get Listed on the National EMT Registry

Once you have finished all your training, you will have to get on the registry for EMTs and that costs $80. Once you have passed certification you can get listed.

What’s the Median EMT salary in Connecticut?

The median hourly pay in CT is $22.77 and the median salary is $47,360. The following table displays EMT salary in Connecticut in more detail using data from bls.gov.

LocationPay TypeLowMedianHigh
United StatesHourly$10.52$16.05$27.40
Yearly$21,880$33,380$56,990
ConnecticutHourly$15.32$22.77$30.62
Yearly$31,860$47,360$63,690
Bridgeport-Stamford-Norwalk, CTHourly$17.76$26.06$32.51
Yearly$36,940$54,210$67,630
New Haven, CTHourly$16.60$23.32$32.71
Yearly$34,530$48,500$68,040
Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford, CTHourly$13.46$21.76$29.11
Yearly$28,000$45,260$60,540
Norwich-New London, CT-RIHourly$11.33$18.61$30.89
Yearly$23,560$38,710$64,250
Springfield, MA-CTHourly$13.79$18.34$26.04
Yearly$28,680$38,160$54,160
Worcester, MA-CTHourly$12.92$18.22$30.00
Yearly$26,880$37,890$62,390

The Job Outlook for EMTs in Connecticut

The growth for EMTs and Paramedics in Connecticut is on the rise with a projected 11% growth in new opportunities over the next decade.