All candidates interested in becoming an EMT in Connecticut are overseen and regulated by the Connecticut Department of Public Health. Below we walk you through what it takes to get started on the path to certification, choose the right approved training and how the career is doing as a whole.

What does an Emergency Medical Technician do in CT?

As mentioned previously, EMTs and Paramedics care for the sick or seriously injured in urgent medical situations. You will see some more-detailed descriptions of the profession’s role at this link here.

What are the steps to become an Emergency Medical Technician in Connecticut?

Becoming an EMT in Connecticut calls for graduating from a professional training program. Connecticut mandates that all EMTs and Paramedics employed in the state be professionally certified. While each state might have different requirements for EMT certification, the five steps listed below are fairly typical.

Step 1: Complete your high school diploma or GED

When looking for an Emergency Medical Technician certification program, you will also find that all programs require trainees to hold a diploma or G.E.D. prior to enrollment. So, no matter your professional career goals, be sure that you finish this step.

Step 2: Complete an Emergency Medical Technician training program in CT

If you wish to be eligible to sit for for certification, you will need to first off graduate from a CT Dept. of Public Health approved EMT program. You should have completed an accredited school in the past two years and be listed on the National Registry (see below) prior to challenging the certification assessment. Community colleges, trade schools, hospitals and universities all offer EMT training classes in CT.

All Connecticut EMT Programs Approved by the CT Dept. of Public Health

Below is the complete of Connecticut Department of Public Health Approved EMT programs.

Location Instructor Name Instructor Email Phone (W) Phone (H)

EMR

Beacon Falls Rodorigo,Jeremy jeremy.rodorig0@wtbyhosp.org (203) 410-7019
North Canaan Osterman,Damon odamon@yahoo.com (860) 309-3804
Sharon Sawicki,Zachary zsawicki1@gmail.com (860) 605-0420 (860) 435-0102
Sherman Healey,Ellen ellenjohealey@gmail.com (203) 788-0536
Somers Meier III,William bm146@aol.com (860) 214-3649
Southbury Lynch,Judith judithlynch@icloud.com (203) 509-6575

EMR-R

Bantam Curulla,Troy troycurulla@gmail.com (860) 209-1590 (860) 209-1589
Brooklyn Wentworth,Paul paul.wentworth@jmmc.com (860) 748-6302 (860) 974-0324
Clinton Battista,John towndocks@att.net (860) 669-8131 (860) 669-1674
Durham Brockett,Louis lou@asecondchancecpr.com (860) 788-3245 (203) 213-7775
East Hartford Shok,Richard info@code1web.com (860) 786-1789
Enfield Ellis,Scott sellis@enfield.org (860) 930-1024 (860) 745-3365
Enfield Shelanskas,Lisa EMSIServices@aol.com (860) 810-5247 (860) 668-3885
Groton Christina,Steven emsi_steve@hotmail.com (860) 572-1869 (860) 867-7107
Harwinton Nemcik,Jaclyn jaclyn_nemcik@hotmail.com (860) 601-6166 (860) 489-6633
Killingly Ducat,Eric eric.ducat@hotmail.com (860) 208-2218 (860) 774-7625
Middlebury Sweet,Ken Medic2470@gmail.com (203) 759-7525 (203) 509-9897
Middletown Davis,Michael mdavis@firstapproach.org (860) 343-5713 (860) 615-9418
New London Christina,Steven emsi_steve@hotmail.com (860) 572-1869 (860) 867-7107
Newington D’Esposito,Matthew mdesposito@newingtonct.gov (860) 666-8445 (203) 948-4905
Norwich Crowley,Erin ecrowley@americanprotraining.com (860) 383-1343
Old Saybrook Spera,Michael howserpublicsafety@gmail.com (860) 395-6648
Oxford Aiello,Michael oxfordambulance@gmail.com (203) 881-5216 (203) 893-1941
Plainfield Marriott,Michael marriott29@hotmail.com (860) 933-4952
Portland Sienkiewicz,Thomas tpss55@sbcglobal.net (860) 593-1781 (860) 342-5636
Riverside Fogler,Dennis dfogler@greenwichems.org (203) 915-6151 (203) 637-7505
Seymour Ryan,Bryan bryan@seymourems.org (203) 996-7197 (203) 888-8843
Sharon Cannon,Amanda acannon@scrinc.net (860) 491-2689 (860) 294-4359
Shelton Lahaza,Patrick plahaza@sheltonems.com (203) 924-5500
Somers Shelanskas,Lisa EMSIServices@aol.com (860) 810-5247 (860) 668-3885
South Windsor Hildebrand,Andrew ahildebrand@cprtrainpro.com (860) 474-5525
Uncasville Leclair,David daleclair@hotmail.com (607) 435-5807 (607) 432-7525

EMSI

Hartford Shelanskas,Lisa EMSIServices@aol.com (860) 810-5247
Manchester Osborne,Melissa mosborne35@gmail.com (860) 705-0071
Shelton Lahaza,Patrick plahaza@sheltonems.com (203) 924-5500

EMT

Bridgeport Roberts,Aimee aimee.roberts@amr.net (203) 332-4080 (203) 212-5287
Bristol Kenney,Sharon skenney@txcc.commnet.edu (860) 314-4700 (860) 314-4705
Danbury Cassavechia,Matthew Matthew.Cassavechia@wchn.org (203) 739-7493 (203) 648-5160
Durham Brockett,Louis lou@asecondchancecpr.com (860) 788-3245 (203) 213-7775
East Hartford Shok,Richard info@code1web.com (860) 786-1789
Meriden Marotto,Scott scottm@huntersamb.com (203) 514-5133 (860) 918-3797
Middletown Davis,Michael mdavis@firstapproach.org (860) 343-5713 (860) 615-9418
New Haven Torino,Michael mtorino@gwcc.com (203) 815-2927 (203) 671-7994
New London Christina,Steven emsi_steve@hotmail.com (860) 572-1869 (860) 867-7107
New London Holyfield,Charles FB29-10@sbcglobal.net (860) 884-5963 (860) 884-5963
New Milford Amorando,Jacob jakeamorando@gmail.com (203) 300-4488
Newtown Cain,Elizabeth ecain48641@aol.com (203) 270-8798 (203) 788-7570
Norwalk Ralsky,Mark mcr769@hotmail.com (203) 241-7400
Norwich Russell,Erin ecrowley@americanprotraining.com (860) 383-1343
Old Saybrook Spera,Michael howserpublicsafety@gmail.com (860) 395-6648
Oxford Aiello,Michael oxfordambulance@gmail.com (203) 881-5216 (203) 893-1941
Shelton Lahaza,Patrick plahaza@sheltonems.com (203) 924-5500
South Windsor Hildebrand,Andrew ahildebrand@cprtrainpro.com (860) 474-5525
Southbury Lynch,Judith judithlynch@icloud.com (203) 509-6575
Storrs Zacchera,Michael michael.zacchera@hhchealth.org (860) 972-2564
Stratford Benoit,Victoria vbenoit1@fairfield.edu (203) 254-4090 (203) 254-4090
Terryville Kenney,Sharon skenney@txcc.commnet.edu (860) 314-4700 (860) 314-4705
Waterbury Gelati,Laurence tvac18@aol.com (203) 753-5055 (860) 601-7717
Windsor Antonelli,Richard richard.antonelli@windsorctems.com (860) 688-8244

EMT Bridge

Middletown Davis,Michael mdavis@firstapproach.org (860) 343-5713 (860) 615-9418
Watertown Lynch,Judith judithlynch@icloud.com (203) 509-6575 (860) 274-8959

EMT-R

Bantam Curulla,Troy troycurulla@gmail.com (860) 209-1590 (860) 209-1589
Bridgeport Roberts,Aimee aimee.roberts@amr.net (203) 212-5287 (203) 332-4080
Brooklyn Wentworth,Paul paul.wentworth@imhosp.org (860) 748-6302 (860) 974-0324
Clinton Battista,John schmardel@yahoo.com (860) 669-8131 (203) 391-2254
Durham Brockett,Louis lou@asecondchancecpr.com (860) 788-3245 (203) 213-7775
East Hartford Shok,Richard info@code1web.com (860) 786-1789
Easton Arnold,Majorie mjm3541@gmail.com (203) 610-9371 (203) 452-9595
Enfield Ellis,Scott sellis@enfield.org (860) 930-1024 (860) 745-3365
Enfield Shelanskas,Lisa EMSIServices@aol.com (860) 810-5247 (860) 668-3885
Groton Christina,Steven emsi_steve@hotmail.com (860) 572-1869 (860) 867-7107
Harwinton Nemcik,Jaclyn jaclyn_nemcik@hotmail.com (860) 601-6166 (860) 489-6633
Killingly Ducat,Eric eric.ducat@hotmail.com (860) 774-7625 (860) 208-2218
Middletown Davis,Michael mdavis@firstapproach.org (860) 343-5713 (860) 615-9418
Mystic McDonnell,Leo todd.mcdonnell@gmail.com (860) 334-3927

Medic-R

New Britain Ciardullo,Patrick patrick.ciardullo@nbems.org (860) 351-0180 (860) 225-8787
New Haven Roberts,Seth seth.roberts@amr.net (203) 627-1915
New London Christina,Steven emsi_steve@hotmail.com (860) 572-1869 (860) 867-7107
Norwich Russell,Erin erussell@americanprotraining.com (860) 886-1463
Oxford Aiello,Michael oxfordambulance@gmail.com (203) 881-5216 (203) 893-1941
Plainfield Marriott,Michael marriott29@hotmail.com (860) 933-4952
Portland Sienkiewicz,Thomas tpss55@sbcglobal.net (860) 593-1781
Riverside Fogler,Dennis dfogler@greenwichems.org (203) 915-6151 (203) 637-7505
Seymour Ryan,Bryan bryan@seymourems.org (203) 996-7197 (203) 888-8843
Shelton Lahaza,Patrick plahaza@sheltonems.com (203) 924-5500
Somers Shelanskas,Lisa EMSIServices@aol.com (860) 810-5247 (860) 668-3885
South Windsor Hildebrand,Andrew ahildebrand@cprtrainpro.com (860) 474-5525
Old Saybrook Spera,Michael howserpublicsafety@gmail.com (860) 395-3140
Waterbury Matias,Jose jose.matias@amr.net (203) 577-9753 (203) 573-7710
Willimantic Shok,Richard info@code1web.com (860) 786-1789
Windsor Locks Stiles,Carol clstiles@comcast.net (860) 798-7365 (860) 627-6363
Woodbridge Shok,Richard info@code1web.com (860) 786-1789
New Britain Ciardullo,Patrick patrick.ciardullo@nbems.org (860) 351-0180
New Haven DeAngelis,Joseph joseph.deangelis@ynhh.org (203) 868-4564 (203) 562-1507

Paramedic

Bridgeport Rodican,John jrodican3@gmail.com (203) 691-7928 (203) 996-5363

How long is Connecticut EMT School?

It is commonplace for EMT programs to require about two to six months, dependent on the training venue and the number of hours of classes that are taken per week.

Step 3: Get a CPR-BLS credential

Students must have a CPR-BLS certification for “Healthcare Providers” for EMT candidacy. To be recognized, a certification course needs to be endorsed by the American Heart Association. The American Red Cross is one of the nation’s most well-known providers of training classes.

Step 4: Pass the National Registry EMT Exam

There are a couple of distinct sections to the EMT certification examination: The Cognitive Exam (testing your general knowledge) and the Psychomotor Exam (based on skills demonstration). The Cognitive Exam is administered in an online, multiple-choice format, while the Psychomotor Exam is offered at a physical location under the eye of an evaluator. Directly below you can find a closer look at both sections of the examination.

Click here for more details about EMT exams.

Step 5: Have your name included in the National EMT Registry

After graduating from EMT training, all candidates will need to get listed on the National Emergency Medical Technician Registry within 30 days of becoming certified. So as to get listed, you’re going to be asked to pay an $80 fee. After becoming listed, you’ll be officially acknowledged as an Emergency Medical Technician.

What’s the median EMT salary in Connecticut?

The following table displays EMT salary in Connecticut in more detail using data from bls.gov.

LocationPay TypeLowMedianHigh
United StatesHourly$10.52$16.05$27.40
Yearly$21,880 $33,380 $56,990
ConnecticutHourly$15.32$22.77$30.62
Yearly$31,860 $47,360 $63,690
Bridgeport-Stamford-Norwalk, CT Metropolitan NECTAHourly$17.76$26.06$32.51
Yearly$36,940 $54,210 $67,630
New Haven, CT Metropolitan NECTAHourly$16.60$23.32$32.71
Yearly$34,530 $48,500 $68,040
Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford, CT Metropolitan NECTAHourly$13.46$21.76$29.11
Yearly$28,000 $45,260 $60,540
Norwich-New London, CT-RI Metropolitan NECTAHourly$11.33$18.61$30.89
Yearly$23,560 $38,710 $64,250
Springfield, MA-CT Metropolitan NECTAHourly$13.79$18.34$26.04
Yearly$28,680 $38,160 $54,160
Worcester, MA-CT Metropolitan NECTAHourly$12.92$18.22$30.00
Yearly$26,880 $37,890 $62,390

The employment outlook for EMTs in Connecticut

As is also the situation around the United States, the healthcare field in Connecticut is experiencing unprecedented growth due to the region’s aging populace and expanding number of insured customers. The growth for EMTs and Paramedics in Connecticut is projected to be healthy as well, with the Bureau of Labor Statistics predicting a 11% growth in new opportunities across the state through 2026.