Select Page

The oversight of Alabama EMTs is done by The Alabama Office of Emergency Medical Services, so those who may want to become an EMT in Alabama need to follow their guidelines to certification. We show you what they are below.

Get in to the Best EMT Schools in Alabama

 

How you can become an EMT in Alabama

The first step is to meet all entrance requirements for EMT training in Alabama. We list them for you below:

1 – Candidate can be 17 years old but has to be 18 years old when training ends
2 – Have a HS diploma/GED
3 – Have a current driver’s license
4 – Satisfy necessary functions/technical standards for the EMS program, according to the Alabama Department of Public Health Office of EMS and Trauma form
5 – Complete and sign the application to the selected program in Emergency Medicine
6 – Sign your statement of understanding
7 – Pass physical examination
8 – Pass criminal background check and drug test
9 – Verify health insurance/sign a waiver
10 – Tuberculosis (TB) skin test within the past 12 months (clear chest
x-ray if positive test)
11 – Tetanus vaccination/booster (not from more than 10 years ago)
12 – Mumps, Measles, Rubella (MMR) vaccination
13 – Hepatitis-B vaccination

After you meet entrance requirements you can register for accredited training in the state of Alabama.

Alabama Office of EMS (OEMS) Approved EMT Courses

Below is the list of all the Alabama Office of EMS (OEMS) approved EMT programs in Alabama and here is a link to the past 4 years of pass rates.

Alabama Fire College
2501 Phoenix Drive
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35405
Program Director: Bailey Price (bprice@alabamafirecollege.org)
(205) 391-3743
(205) 391-3771

Bevill State Community College (Walker, Hamilton, and Fayette Campuses)
PO Box 800 101 State Street
Sumiton, Alabama 35148
Program Director: Scott Karr (scott.karr@bscc.edu)
(205) 648-3271, Extension 5568
(205) 387-9782

Calhoun Community College
6250 Highway 31 North Tanner, Alabama 36671
PO Box 2216 Decatur, Alabama 35609-2216
Program Director: Kenneth Kirkland (kenneth.kirkland@calhoun.edu)
(256) 306-2854
(256) 306-2909

Central Alabama Community College
34091 U.S. Highway 280
Childersburg, Alabama 35044
Program Director: Dee Fuller (dfuller@cacc.edu)
(256) 378-2062
(256) 378-2046

Chattahoochee Valley Community College
2602 College Drive
Phenix City, Alabama 36869
Program Director: Mark A. Boisclair (Mark.Boisclair@cv.edu)
(334) 214-4872
(334) 214-4864

Coastal Alabama Community College
1900 Highway 31 South
Bay Minette, Alabama 36507
Program Director: Vince Parker (Vincent.Parker@coastalalabama.edu)
(251) 968-3113

Enterprise-Ozark State Community College
PO Box 1300
Enterprise, Alabama 36331
600 Plaza Drive
Enterprise, Alabama 36330
Program Director: Christopher Davis (cdavis@escc.edu)
(334) 347-2623, Extension 2238
(334) 393-6223

Fortis Institute
100 London Parkway
Birmingham, Alabama 35211
Program Director: Brad Garrard (rgarrard@fortisinstitute.edu)
(205) 940-7816

Fortis College
7033 Airport Boulevard
Mobile, Alabama 36608
Program Director: Paul Cumbaa (pcumbaa@fortiscollege.edu)
(251) 344-1203

Gadsden State Community College-McClellan Center
100A Commandants Drive
Anniston, Alabama 36205
Program Director: John Hollingsworth (jhollingsworth@gadsdenstate.edu)
(256) 238-9366
(256) 238-9360

Gadsden State Community College
PO Box 227
1001 George Wallace Drive
Gadsden, Alabama 35902-0227
Program Director: John Hollingsworth (jhollingsworth@gadsdenstate.edu)
(256) 549-8654
(256) 549-8276

Herzing University
280 West Valley Avenue
Birmingham, Alabama 35209
Program Director: Leo J. Deason (leo.deason@bhm.herzing.edu)
(205) 916-2800
(205) 916-2807

Jefferson Davis Community College
PO Box 958
Brewton, Alabama 36427
2200 Alco Drive
Brewton, Alabama 36426
Program Director: Susan Mack (susan.mack@jdcc.edu)
(251) 867-4832
(251) 809-0178

Jefferson State Community College
Jefferson Campus
2601 Carson Road
Birmingham, Alabama 35215

Shelby Campus
4600 Valleydale Road
Birmingham, Alabama 35242
Program Director: James (Pete) Norris (jnorris@jeffstateonline.com)
(205) 856-6066

Lawson State Community College
3060 Wilson Road, S.W.
Birmingham, Alabama 35221
Program Director: Robert Jackson (rjackson@lawsonstate.edu)
(205) 929-6437
(205) 929-6440

Lurleen B. Wallace Community College
PO Box 1418
1000 Dannelly Boulevard
Andalusia, Alabama 36420
Program Director: Wayne Godwin (wgodwin@lbwcc.edu)
(334) 222-6591, Extension 2210
(334) 881-2300

Northeast Alabama Community College
PO Box 159
138 Highway 35 West
Rainsville, Alabama 35986
Program Director: Tom Dixon (dixont@nacc.edu)
(256) 228-6001, Extension 2341
(256) 638-4418, Extension 2341
(256) 638-4418

Northwest-Shoals Community College
PO Box 2545
800 George Wallace Boulevard
Muscle Shoals, Alabama 35662
Program Director: Chris DeMorse (cdemorse@nwscc.edu)
(256) 331-5436
(256) 331-5371

Priority Medical Training
2207 Jeff Road
Harvest, Alabama 35749
Program Director: Richard Wilkinson (prioritymedicaltraining@gmail.com)
(256) 684-9189

Southern Union Community College
1701 Lafayette Parkway
Opelika, Alabama 36801
Program Director: Steve Simpson (ssimpson@suscc.edu)
(334) 745-6437, Extension 5533
(334) 745-6342

H. Councill Trenholm State Community College
PO Box 10048
1225 Airbase Boulevard
Montgomery, Alabama 36108
Program Director: Danny Perry (dperry@trenholmstate.edu)
(334) 420-4277
(334) 420-4437

University of South Alabama
600 Clinic Drive, Suite 400
Mobile, Alabama 36688-0002
Program Director: Jonathan Powell (jpowell@southalabama.edu)
(251) 461-1864
(251) 461-1823

The University of West Alabama
Station 14
Livingston, Alabama 35470
Program Director: R.T. Floyd (rtf@uwa.edu)
(205) 652-3714
(205) 652-3799

Wallace Community College
1141 Wallace Drive
Dothan, Alabama 36303
Program Director: Vince Feggins (vfeggins@wallace.edu)
(334) 556-2442
(334) 983-3600

Wallace State Community College
801 Main Street N.W.
Hanceville, Alabama 35077-2000
Program Director: Allen Patterson (allen.patterson@wallacestate.edu)
(256) 352-8336
(256) 352-8320

EMT Certification in Alabama

You must take the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) examination to get certified. After getting your certification, the NREMT will put you on the EMT registry.

What is the median EMT salary in Alabama?

The median income for Alabama EMTs, along with more regional data for Alabama, is highlighted in the following table. All data is from bls.gov.

LocationPay TypeLowMedianHigh
United StatesHourly$10.52$16.05$27.40
Yearly$21,880$33,380$56,990
AlabamaHourly$9.17$14.17$18.80
Yearly$19,080$29,470$39,100
Columbus, GA-ALHourly$12.20$17.51$28.07
Yearly$25,370$36,410$58,380
Daphne-Fairhope-Foley, ALHourly$11.37$16.09$19.30
Yearly$23,640$33,470$40,150
Gadsden, ALHourly$9.05$15.92$18.86
Yearly$18,820$33,110$39,230
Montgomery, ALHourly$9.36$15.25$21.48
Yearly$19,480$31,720$44,670
Dothan, ALHourly$8.46$15.22$18.31
Yearly$17,600$31,670$38,090
Birmingham-Hoover, ALHourly$10.87$14.95$18.87
Yearly$22,600$31,100$39,250
Huntsville, ALHourly$9.77$14.70$20.42
Yearly$20,330$30,580$42,480
Southwest AlabamaHourly$9.17$14.36$19.06
Yearly$19,060$29,860$39,640
Mobile, ALHourly$11.95$14.34$22.77
Yearly$24,850$29,820$47,360
Anniston-Oxford, ALHourly$10.23$14.07$18.32
Yearly$21,280$29,260$38,110
Northwest AlabamaHourly$8.59$13.47$18.92
Yearly$17,870$28,010$39,350
Northeast AlabamaHourly$8.94$13.31$17.91
Yearly$18,590$27,690$37,240
Tuscaloosa, ALHourly$8.16$12.93$18.01
Yearly$16,970$26,900$37,450
Southeast AlabamaHourly$8.15$11.95$17.87
Yearly$16,960$24,860$37,170
Florence-Muscle Shoals, ALHourly$8.38$11.77$16.64
Yearly$17,420$24,480$34,610

What’s the employment outlook for Emergency Medical Technicians and Paramedics in Alabama?

Bls.gov is forecasting a 32% rise in new EMT jobs across Alabama in the next decade and that is just amazing!