Select Page

From the best options for CNA classes in Alaska to the steps to certification, we cover it all with our latest resource. See what the career as a whole requires for training and what the future shows for the nursing aide career. Allied health positions are in real demand and we cover the details below!

Find CNA Classes in Alaska Now

How to become a CNA in Alaska

The organization responsible for regulating Certified Nursing Assistants (CNAs) in Alaska is the State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development’s Corporations, Professional & Business Licensing (CPBL). Becoming eligible for employment in the state requires having one’s name appear on the Alaska Nurse Aide Registry.

Step 1 – Meet all Requirements for CNA Classes in Alaska

Here is a list of the requirements that new CNA students will have to meet to get on the pathway to becoming a CNA in Alaska.

Meet admission requirements for your school of choice
Provide HS or college transcripts or a high school diploma/GED
Be a minimum of a senior in HS
Speak with English proficiency (This can be passing an English Placement Exam or providing your HS or college transcripts)
Pass health screen
Pass drug test
Pass criminal background check fro Alaska
Have CPR training certification (unless it will be included in the respective CNA training program)

Step 2 – Enroll in a CBPL-approved CNA training program in Alaska

The organization in charge of overseeing nurse assisting classes in Alaska is the State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development’s Corporations, Professional & Business Licensing (CPBL). Only graduates who complete their classes at a program sanctioned by this organization will be able to test for certification in the state.

Select From Only Approved Alaska CNA Classes

Only select from approved nurse aide programs when selecting your program. Below we list all of the nursing aide classes in Alaska that are approved by the CPBL. Click on the link to get all the necessary regulatory information about nursing assistant guidelines and training in Alaska.

All the Approved Nursing Assistant Courses in Alaska

Alaska CNA Program
PO Box 220553
Anchorage, AK 99522
(907) 267-9113
Marcus Murchison, RN
admin@aktrainingcenter.com

King Tech High School
2650 E. Northern Lts. Blvd
Anchorage, AK 99508
(907) 742-4136
Emelyn Hudson RN, Coordinator
Hudson_Emelyn@asdk12.org
Adrienne Voss, RN
Voss_adrienne@asdk12.org

Caregiver Training Academy
203 West 15th Avenue #104
Anchorage, AK 99501
(907) 258-0535
Cheryl Milline, RN
ctaanchorage@alaska.net

Chugiak – Eagle River Health Education CNA Program
22424 N Birchwood Loop
Chugiak, AK 99567
(907) 688-2603
Patty Riggs, Program Director
health@mtaonline.net
(907) 688-2603
Sally Jo Carr, RN
education@mtaonline.net
(907) 688-2675

University of Alaska Anchorage/MatSu College
3211 Providence Dr AHS 148
Anchorage, AK 99508
LeeAnne Carrothers
lcarrothers@alaska.edu
(907) 786-6932

Mat-Su Alaska Job Corps
17 ½ to 24 year olds
800 E Lynn Martin Dr
Palmer, AK 99654
(907) 861-8808
Tami Graham, Manager
graham.tami@jobcorps.org

Mat-Su Career & Tech High School
HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS ONLY
2472 Seward Meridian
Wasilla, AK 99654
(907) 352-0426
Shawnie Glenn, RN
Shawn.glenn@matsuk12.us
Kathy Foxley, RN

Fairbanks University of Alaska
Fairbanks Community & Technical College
604 Barnette Street Rm. 401
Fairbanks, AK 99701
(907) 455-2876
Cathleen Winfree, RN
cmwinfree@alaska.edu
Stacey Cortez, Admin Assistant
(907) 455-2823

Heritage Place
Not accepting remedial students
232 Rockwell
Soldotna, AK 99669
(907) 252-7337
Ruthann Truesdell, RN
rtruesdell@cpgh.org

Kenai Peninsula College
Kenai Peninsula School District
156 College Road
Soldotna, AK 99669
Program Manager Bettie Wallace
bgwallace@alaska.edu
(907) 262-0379
KPC – Audrey Standerfer, RN, BSN
astander@alaska.edu
(907) 262-0362

Kachemak Bay Campus – Kenai
Peninsula College – Homer
533 E. Pioneer Ave
Homer, AK 99603
(907) 235-7743
Carol Swartz, Director
ciswartz@kpc.alaska.edu

Bethel CNA Program
Kuskokwim Campus, UAF
PO Box 368
Bethel, AK 99559
Jeremy Osborne
Sally Russell

Cordova – Prince William Sound
Community College
PO Box 1248
Cordova, AK 99574
(907) 424-7598
Susan Harding, Coordinator
spharding@alaska.edu

Juneau – University of Alaska
Southeast
1415 Harbor Way
Juneau, AK 99801
(907) 796-6125
Ce Ce Brenner, RN, Program Director
cebrenner2@alaska.edu

Ketchikan – University of Alaska
Southeast
2600 7th Avenue
Ketchikan, AK 99901
(907) 228-4537
Abby Kosmos, Coordinator
alkosmos@alaska.edu

Kodiak College
117 Benny Benson Dr
Kodiak, AK 99615
(907) 539-2805
Megan Kouremetis, RN
meganalice02@gmail.com

Kotzebue – Alaska Technical
Center
PO Box 51
Kotzebue, AK 99752
(907) 442-3733 X32
Cindy Lincoln, RN
clincoln@nwarctic.org

Nome – UAF Northwest Campus
Norton Sound Health Corp.
PO Box 966
Nome, AK 99762
Stephanie Cummings, LPN
scummings@nshcorp.org
(907) 443-9588
Cathy Winfree, RN
(907) 455-2876
cmwinfree@alaska.edu

Petersburg Medical Center
PO Box 589
Petersburg, AK 99833
(907) 772-4291 x5718
Angela Menish, RN, Program Director
amenish@pmc-health.org

Sitka – University of Alaska Southeast
1332 Seward Avenue
Sitka, AK 99835
(907) 747-9476
Darcie Ziel, RN
drziel@alaska.edu

Valdez – Valdez Combined
Program-Providence Valdez
Medical Center/Prince William
Sound College
PO Box 550
Valdez, AK 99686
Renea Mitchell, RN, Program Coordinator
(907) 834-1801
renea.mitchell@providence.org

Wrangell Medical Center
PO Box 1081
Wrangell, AK 99929
(907) 874-7000
Sue Nelson, RN
Sue.nelson@wrangellmedical.org
Katrina Ottesen, RN
Katrina.ottesen@wrangellmedical.org

Step 3 – Complete the state-required classroom and clinical hours

Finishing an accredited training program is required to become a nursing assistant. Training courses in Alaska will require you to satisfy the state’s required minimum of 80 hours in a hands-on clinical environment, as well as 140 hours in classroom study.

To be eligible to take the NNAAP exam in Alaska you will have to complete the required training hours.

Step 4 – Pass the NNAAP certification exam

The official nurse aide certification exam given in Alaska is the NNAAP. The test is made up of a written section and a clinical part.

The group that gives the test is a national assessment provider named PearsonVUE. Regular evaluation sites in Alaska are typically held in certain towns and cities. Make sure you check the provider’s website for schedules.

All applicants need to have the training program verification.

Test fees are listed below:

$50 for application
$100 for certification
$60 for fingerprint processing
$50 for examination
All candidates opting for the oral examination will have to pay an additional $5.

The total amount due will be $260 or $265.

Also note that applicants need to attach a passport-style photograph to their application and also have the form notarized.

Step 5 – Get listed on the Alaska Nurse Aide Registry

The final step in becoming eligible for work as a CNA in Alaska is getting your name listed to the Alaska Nurse Aide Registry. Managed by the CBPL, this is a checklist of all certified nursing assistants that are approved to work in the state. Unless you are on this checklist, you will not be eligible to work. Fortunately, you generally do not have to do anything in order for this to happen. The assessment provider will normally inform the registry as your representative right after you pass the NNAAP. Typically your wait time to conclude this procedure in Alaska is no more than 10 days long.

Alaska Nurse Aide Registry
Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing
550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1500
Anchorage, AK 99501

CNA Salary and Jobs in Alaska

The Bureau of Labor Statistics expects a 10% increase in brand new jobs for nursing assistants in Alaska through 2024. Below you will find a list of the cities in Alaska and what CNAs can expect in terms of salary and pay across the state of Alaska.

LocationPay TypeLowMedianHigh
United StatesHourly$9.64$12.78$18.22
Yearly$20,040$26,590$37,900
AlaskaHourly$13.22$17.81$23.46
Yearly$27,510$37,030$48,810
Fairbanks, AKHourly$17.21$19.44$24.07
Yearly$35,790$40,430$50,060
Southeast AlaskaHourly$15.72$18.87$24.34
Yearly$32,710$39,260$50,630
Alaska Balance of StateHourly$13.16$17.39$23.05
Yearly$27,360$36,170$47,940
Anchorage, AKHourly$12.70$17.25$22.94
Yearly$26,420$35,890$47,710

Options for Nursing Assistant Classes in AK Near You